Hall of Fame inductees honored

The inaugural 2019 REdI Foundation Hall of Fame was a huge success on Tuesday, May 14 at the Paradise Ranch & Retreat in Springfield with nearly 200 people in attendance, honoring the first class of Hall of Fame inductees.

Each year, the REdI Foundation plans to choose about 10 Robertson County graduates who have gone on to achieve successful careers in life, “despite being from a small town,” the foundation’s director Kathy Gunn always says.

2019 inductee David Alford, an actor, writer, director and teacher, who recently played Bucky Dawes on the TV show Nashville, quipped that he felt it odd that both of the entertainers honored Tuesday, he and comedian Leanne Morgan were from Adams and even in the same Jo Byrns graduating class.

“There’s not a lot going on in Adams,” Alford said. “Back in 1983, there was really nothing going on, so we entertained each other and had a really great time.”  

Morgan has recently signed a deal with Sony Comedy TV to appear in an ongoing program about her life.

Penny Schwinn, Tennessee’s newest education commissioner, was a special guest at the Hall of Fame ceremony.

Though she did not address the audience, after the program, Schwinn told the Connection that she loves the community in and around Springfield, having visited the Robertson County school district four times since being named commissioner in February.

“I went into the middle school and high school in Springfield,” Schwinn said. “I also visited the Innovation (Academy) group, where students talked about the community and how they like to push each other to be better. It’s all about making sure the students are successful.”

Springfield High School alumnus Stan Stanley served as the Hall of Fame Master of Ceremonies, introducing each honoree.

The 2019 REdI Foundation Hall of Fame inductees include:

David Alford - Julliard graduate, actor, playwright, director, teacher

Dr. Christine Harris Coker - Associate research and extension professor in urban horticulture

Dr. Jessica Durham - Doctor of Optometry

Michael Korfhage - Illustrator featured in TIME Magazine

Leanne (Fletcher) Morgan - Family comedian on the national stage

Rear Admiral Terry J. Moulton USN - Deputy Surgeon General; Deputy Chief, Bureau of Medicine and Surgery

Mark Sletto - U.S. Secret Service, protective detail for President George H.W Bush (41)

Tom Sorrells - Chief meteorologist WKMG-TV, Orlando

Dr. Amanda Stubblefield Barnard - NASA, International Space Station flight controller and instructor

Bobby Trotter - Sergeant at Arms, Tennessee Legislature and Springfield alderman

Recommended for you