Lanny Adcock

The City of Greenbrier will soon usher in a new mayor. Candidate Lanny Adcock claimed the lead in the Aug. 6 race, beating out challengers Jeff De Long and Burtis Ridge.

Sam Owen won the alderman seat for Ward 1, beating incumbent Carol Fagg. Steven Higdon and Bill Deaver also won their election bids on the board.

Incumbent Chris Traughber won his bid for reelection to serve another term as the county’s assessor of property.

The county commissioner for District 1 remains as incumbent Bobby Couts Jr. and District 11 as incumbent Steve Haley, with both positions unchallenged. The Circuit Court Judge Part V- District 19 position went to Republican nominee Katy Olita.

The highway commission filled six positions in this election. Highway commissioner for Zone 1 will be Paul Creasy Jr. Highway commissioner seats in zones two through five were unchallenged and results are as follows: Zone 2, Ralph Head; Zone 3, Ralph White; Zone 4, Donnie Martin; Zone 5, Charlie Cook; and Zone 6, Willie Peach.

The school board had four seats up for bid this election. Board seats in Zone 3 through 6 were unchallenged and results concluded as: Zone 3, Jeff White; Zone 4, Scott Rice; Zone 5, Stephen Aryes; and Zone 6, Connie Hogan.

For judicial retention, Carma McGee was voted to be (retained/replaced) as the Judge of the Court of Appeals, Western Division.

August Primaries

Bill Hagerty of Gallatin won the Republican State Primary nomination for the US Senate position, beating out 14 other candidates including Dr. Manny Sethi.

Hagerty will face off on November against Democrat Marquita Bradshaw, who won her party’s nomination.

Republican incumbent John Rose will face off in November against Democrat nominee Chris Finley for a seat in the US House of Representatives.

Republican incumbent Sabi Kumar, who represents the Tennessee House of Representatives District 66, took the lead in his race and will run against Democrat challenger Jarvus Turnley in November.

Recommended for you