Today is Sunday, September 24, 2017

Jeff White named school board chairman

Comment     Print
Related Articles
Jeff White

The Robertson County Board of Education has named Jeff White as the chairman of the board, replacing outgoing board chair Connie Hogan.

The board unanimously elected White at the Tuesday, Sept. 5 meeting.

"I am humbled at their confidence in me to serve as chairman," White said Wednesday. "I am excited and willing to take on this responsibility for the next year. Connie has done a great job these past three years. I can't say enough about her. I've learned from her and hope that I can do as well as she did."

Election of the chair and vice chair takes place each September.

Vice Chair Stoney Crockett, who was re-elected to his position, nominated White as the board chair, saying the position is something all board members should share.

"It's a responsibility that everybody needs to be able to perform, for those who are willing," Crockett said.

Hogan, who has served in the role of board chair for three terms, quickly called for the nominations to cease once Crockett nominated White.

Board of education member Scott Rice was elected to be the new Tennessee Legislative Network (TLN) representative.

Rice will work with the legislative network and the Tennessee School Board Association in development of concerns associated with the legislature.

In his closing comments, board member Allan Heard commended Hogan for her work as chair, telling White he had some big shoes to fill.

"You have been top of the line," Heard said. "Thank you for what you've done."

Since taking office in 2008, White has served as a legislative representative and as vice chairman under four previous chairmen -- Lyle Payne, Crockett, Heard and Hogan.

Read more from:
Local News
Comment      Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: